ATLANTA (March 7, 2024) – The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today that Sue Phillips of Archbishop Mitty High School (San Jose, CA) and Kevin Boyle of Montverde Academy (Montverde, FL) have been named the winners of the 2024 Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Girls and Boys Coach of the Year awards.

“Sue and Kevin’s dedication and leadership have been instrumental in guiding their teams to remarkable success this season,” said Eric Oberman, president of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “Their exceptional coaching abilities and mentorship have been evident through the growth and development of their players. Winning the prestigious Jersey Mike’s Naismith Coach of the Year Award is a testament to their consistent excellence and profound impact on the game. Their influence extends beyond the court, leaving a lasting positive legacy within their teams and communities.”

Phillips becomes the first coach to be named Jersey Mike’s Naismith Girls Coach of the Year multiple times after winning the award in 2018. In her 31st season as the head coach at her alma mater, Archbishop Mitty is ranked No. 1 in the country by ESPN and is currently 30-0.

She has guided the Monarchs to 25 of the program’s 32 Central Coast Sectional titles. Archbishop Mitty won their 16th NorCal title and will play for the school’s first Open Division state championship on March 9, which would be her seventh CIF state title.

A 2024 inductee into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame, Phillips has also been named the head coach of the 2024 USA Women’s Nike Hoop Summit team. She has led USA Basketball Junior National Teams to four gold medals, guided her Archbishop Mitty team to the national championship in 2018, and amassed 819 career victories.

“I am incredibly grateful and humbled to receive the 2024 Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Girls Coach of the Year award,” Phillips said. “This is a shared honor.  I stand proudly on the shoulders of my current and former players and coaching staff.  Much appreciation to the Archbishop Mitty community for their continued support.”

Boyle has now won this award for a record fourth time. He previously won in 2018 and 2020 at Montverde and in 2011 at St. Patrick High School in Elizabeth, NJ.

He coached the Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Boys winner in the two seasons he has won this award at Montverde – RJ Barrett (2018) and Cade Cunningham (2020). The winner of this year’s award will be revealed tomorrow on March 8, with Cooper Flagg from the current team among the finalists.

Boyle has led Montverde to a 30-0 record in the 2023-24 basketball season, and his team is ranked No. 1 in the country by ESPN and SBLive/Sports Illustrated. This year’s team has five players ranked in the national top 30 of its class for 2024 by ESPN and has been named “The Team of the Decade in High School Basketball” by USA Today.

The Eagles will finish their season at the High School Nationals on April 4-6 in Brownsburg, Ind., where Boyle has previously guided Montverde to national titles in 2013, 2014, 2015, 2018, 2021 and 2022. 

“I want to thank the Atlanta Tipoff Club for honoring me with this prestigious Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Coach of the Year award,” Boyle said.  “I also want to thank my coaching staff – Kevin Boyle Jr, Joe Katuka, Brendan Boyle and Shea Feehan – as they did a terrific job, and to all the players for their commitment and sacrifice this season.”

First presented in 2008, the Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Coach of the Year is voted on by a select group of basketball journalists from around the country who form the Naismith Awards national high school board of selectors. The winners were judged on outstanding on-court coaching performances during the 2023-2024 high school basketball season. For more information, visit

“It’s an honor for Jersey Mike’s to acknowledge and celebrate the standout high school coaches of this remarkable season,” said Jeff Hemschoot, vice president of marketing at Jersey Mike’s. “Sue and Kevin represent the epitome of excellence in high school basketball, and Jersey Mike’s extends heartfelt commendations to them for their dedicated efforts in nurturing the next generation of athletes.”


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983. Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include AXIA Time, Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder.


Jersey Mike’s Subs, with more than 2,300 locations open and under development nationwide, serves authentic fresh sliced/fresh grilled subs on in-store freshly baked bread — the same recipe it started with in 1956. Passion for giving in Jersey Mike’s local communities is reflective in its mission statement “Giving…making a difference in someone’s life.” For more information, please visit or follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.


Media Contact:

Mallory Hadaway, Atlanta Tipoff Club
[email protected]
(256) 682-0599