Kentucky senior seeks to be first repeat recipient in 40 years

ATLANTA (November 7, 2022) – The Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today the 50 men’s players to watch during the season-long competition for the 2023 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy Men’s Player of the Year honor. Kentucky’s Oscar Tshiebwe reappears on this year’s list and can be the first repeat honoree since Virginia’s Ralph Samson won three awards from 1981-1983. Duke freshman Dariq Whitehead, the 2022 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Boy’s High School Player of the Year, also made the list. Additionally, Iowa junior Kris Murray looks to follow in his identical twin brother’s footsteps as a 2023 candidate, after. Keegan was a finalist for the 2022 honor.

The midseason 30 team will be announced in February, and then the competition will be narrowed down to 10 national semifinalists in early March. Following those results, four finalists will be named on March 21, 2023, and the winner of the 2023 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy for Men’s Player of the Year will be announced on April 2, 2023.  

“These 50 players represent the best that college basketball has to offer. We anticipate another fantastic season from these players as well as many more incredible athletes who may find themselves on our list as the season progresses,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “Each of these players are great ambassadors for their team, universities, and college basketball.” 

The ACC leads all conferences with nine candidates on the list. The Big 12 and SEC follow with seven players apiece and the Big 10 and Pac-12 each placed six on the list. Eleven schools claim two or more candidates with North Carolina and Duke tied with three each. 

“We cannot wait to see what these incredible athletes accomplish this season,” said Jeff Hemschoot, vice president of marketing, Jersey Mike’s. “Every year we are amazed by the passion, effort and skill these players put forth, and this season promises more of the same.”

Max AbmasSeniorGOral Roberts
Armando BacotSeniorF/CNorth Carolina
Matt BradleySeniorGSan Diego State
Tyger CampbellRedshirt SeniorGUCLA
Marcus CarrGrad StudentGTexas
Colin CastletonFifth YearFFlorida
Kendric DavisFifth YearGMemphis
RJ DavisJuniorGNorth Carolina
Antoine DavisGrad StudentGDetroit Mercy
Hunter DickinsonJuniorCMichigan
Zach EdeyJuniorCPurdue
Adam FlaglerRedshirt SeniorGBaylor
Keyonte GeorgeFreshmanGBaylor
DaRon Holmes IISophomoreFDayton
Tyrese HunterSophomoreGTexas
Graham IkeJuniorFWyoming
Harrison IngramSophomoreFStanford
Trayce Jackson-DavisSeniorF/CIndiana
Jaime Jaquez Jr.SeniorG/FUCLA
Ryan KalkbrennerJuniorCCreighton
Dereck Lively IIFreshmanCDuke
Caleb LoveJuniorGNorth Carolina
Hunter MaldonadoSeniorGWyoming
Caleb McConnellFifth YearGRutgers
Kevin McCullar Jr.Redshirt SeniorGKansas
Darius McGheeRedshirt SeniorGLiberty
Mike Miles Jr.JuniorGTCU
Brandon MillerFreshmanFAlabama
Kris MurrayJuniorFIowa
Nijel PackThird-Year SophomoreMiami
Drew PetersonFifth YearGUSC
Will RichardsonSeniorGOregon
Jeremy RoachJuniorGDuke
Adama SanogoJuniorFUConn
Marcus SasserSeniorGHouston
Terrence Shannon Jr.SeniorGIllinois
Terquavion SmithSophomoreGNC State
Nick Smith Jr.FreshmanGArkansas
Julian StrawtherJuniorGGonzaga
Drew TimmeSeniorFGonzaga
Oscar TshiebweSeniorFKentucky
Azuolas TubelisJuniorFArizona
Santiago VescoviSeniorGTennessee
Jordan WalkerSeniorGUAB
Sahvir WheelerSeniorGKentucky
Dariq WhiteheadFreshmanFDuke
Cam WhitmoreFreshmanFVillanova
Jalen WilsonRedshirt JuniorFKansas
Isaiah WongFourth-Year JuniorGMiami
Zakai ZeiglerSophomoreGTennessee