UConn Leads All Schools with Three Commits on the Watch List

ATLANTA (November 15, 2022) – The watch list for the 2023 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Girls High School Player of the Year was announced today by the Atlanta Tipoff Club, with the nation’s marquee players leading the way. Sidwell Friends School has the opportunity to claim back-to-back honorees with top prospect Jayden Donovan, after Kiki Rice won the award a season ago.

“This group of young women is as talented as we have ever seen,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “We are excited to watch them compete this season and see their progression and development throughout the 2022-23 season.”

UConn leads all schools with three commits on the watch list, and experience dominates the list with 38 seniors represented. Sophomores Aaliyah Chavez, Jasmine Davidson and ZaKiyah Johnson are the only underclassmen on the list.

“Jersey Mike’s believes in the importance of high school sports,” said Jeff Hemschoot, vice president of marketing, Jersey Mike’s. “We are thrilled to be a part of another great year of girls high school basketball and look forward to honoring a deserving athlete at the end of the season.”

The five finalists will be announced in February and the 2023 Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Trophy Girls honor will be awarded in March 2023.

2023 Naismith High School Girls Player of the Year Watch List

Sunaja AgaraSRGMinnetonka, MNHopkins High SchoolStanford
Kamorea ArnoldSRPGGermantown, WIGermantown High SchoolUConn
Carys BakerSRFWindsor, CTLoomis Chaffee SchoolVirginia Tech
Sofia BellSRWPortland, ORJesuit High SchoolOregon
Madison BookerSRWRidgeland, MSGermantown High SchoolTexas
Zoe BrooksSRGPlainfield, NJSaint John Vianney HighNC State
Jaloni CambridgeJRPGNashville, TNThe Ensworth School
Justice CarltonJRFKaty, TXSeven Lakes High School
Aaliyah ChavezSOPGLubbock, TXMonterey High School
Essence CodySRPValdosta, GAValdosta High SchoolAlabama
Diana CollinsSRPGLilburn, GABrookwood High SchoolOhio State
Breya CunninghamSRPChula Vista, CALa Jolla Country Day SchoolArizona
Jasmine DavidsonSOWClackamas, ORClackamas High School
Aalyah Del RosarioSRPNashville, TNThe Webb SchoolLSU
Jadyn DonovanSRGWashington, DCSidwell Friends SchoolDuke
Joyce EdwardsJRFCamden, SCCamden High School
Milaysia FulwileySRPGColumbia, SCW.J. Keenan High School
Hannah HidalgoSRPGHaddonfield, NJPaul VI High School
Sahnya JahSRWMontverde, FLMontverde AcademySouth Carolina
Kymora JohnsonSRGCharlottesville, VASaint Anne's-Belfield SchoolVirginia
Tessa JohnsonSRGAlbertville, MNSaint Michael Albertville HighSouth Carolina
ZaKiyah JohnsonSOGShelbyville, KYSacred Heart Academy
Ari LongSRPGMoreno Valley, CAValley View High SchoolWashington
Amanda MuseSRPBrentwood, CAHeritage High SchoolUCLA
Riley NelsonSRWClarksburg, MDBullis SchoolMaryland
Mackenzie NelsonSRPGGreenwich, CTSt. Luke's SchoolVirginia Tech
S'mya NicholsSRWOverland Park, KSShawnee Mission West High SchoolKansas
Courtney OgdenSRWAtlanta, GAWestminster SchoolStanford
Olivia OlsonJRPGSaint Louis Park, MNBenilde Saint Margaret HighMichigan
Britt PrinceJRPGElkhorn, NEElkhorn North High School
Cassandre ProsperSRFRosemere, Quebec, CANCairine Wilson Secondary School
Laila ReynoldsSRGBrandywine, MDShabach Christian Academy
Amiyah ReynoldsSRGWashington, INWashington High SchoolMaryland
Emma RischSRGMelbourne, FLPalm Bay MagnetNotre Dame
Qadence SamuelsSRFForestville, MDBishop McNamara High SchoolUConn
Taliah ScottSRGOrange Park, FLSaint John's Country Day SchoolArkansas
Sayvia SellersSRPGAnchorage, AKAnchorage Christian SchoolsWashington
Ashlynn ShadeSRGNoblesville, INLa Lumiere SchoolUConn
Sarah StrongJRFFuquay-Varina, NCGrace Academy NC
Adhel TacJRPGrand Prairie, TXSouth Grand Prairie High School
Delaney ThomasSRFWashington, DCSt. John's College High SchoolDuke
Blanca ThomasJRPCharlotte, NCCharlotte Catholic High School
Ciera ToomeySRPDunmore, PADunmore High SchoolNorth Carolina
Letycia VasconcelosSRPMontverde, FLMontverde AcademyBaylor
Sammie WagnerSRWSan Antonio, TXRonald Reagan High SchoolOregon
Judea WatkinsSRGLos Angeles, CASierra Canyon High School
Mikaylah WilliamsSRGBossier City, LAParkway High SchoolLSU
Jada WilliamsSRPGLa Jolla, CALa Jolla Country Day SchoolArizona
Sahara WilliamsSRWWaterloo, IAWest High SchoolOklahoma
Allie ZiebellJRGNeenah, WINeenah High School


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983. Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder.


Jersey Mike’s Subs, with more than 2,300 locations open and under development nationwide, serves authentic fresh sliced/fresh grilled subs on in-store freshly baked bread — the same recipe it started with in 1956. Passion for giving in Jersey Mike’s local communities is reflective in its mission statement “Giving…making a difference in someone’s life.” For more information, please visit jerseymikes.com or follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Media Contact:

Traci Messier

Jackson Spalding for the Atlanta Tipoff Club

[email protected]