Top Recruits Xavier Booker, Justin Edwards and D.J. Wagner Headline 2023 Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Trophy Boys Preseason Watch List

ATLANTA (November 16, 2022) – Montverde Academy, with four winners in the last seven years, and Sunrise Christian Academy, account for a total of eight players on the 2023 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Boys High School Player of the Year watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.  Montverde boasts former winners Ben Simmons (2015), R.J. Barrett (2018), Cade Cunningham (2020) and Dariq Whitehead (2022) and has four candidates this season.   Top recruits D.J. Wagner (committed to Kentucky), Justin Edwards (committed to Kentucky) and Xavier Booker (committed to Michigan St.) headline this initial watch list.

“We are off and running in what should be an exciting and competitive season of high school basketball,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “There are so many talented candidates who could win the Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy, and that will play itself out over the next several months.”

“The players on this list represent the future of basketball,” said Jeff Hemschoot, vice president of marketing, Jersey Mike’s. “We look forward to following these young men as they compete throughout the season.”

Duke leads all schools with five candidates committed to playing for them next season: Caleb Foster, Jared McCain, Mackenzie Mgbako, T.J. Power and Sean Stewart.  Sophomores Cooper Flagg and Koa Peat are the only underclassman candidates on this year’s watch list.

The five finalists will be announced in February and the 2023 Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Trophy Boys winner will awarded in March 2023.

Flory BidungaJuniorCKokomo, INKokomo High School
Omaha BiliewSeniorPFWaukee, IAWaukee High SchoolIowa State
Layden BlockerSeniorPGLittle Rock, ARSunrise Christian AcademyArkansas
Xavier BookerSeniorCIndianapolis, INCathedral High SchoolMichigan State
Aaron BradshawSeniorCCamden, NJCamden High SchoolKentucky
Matas BuzelisSeniorSFHinsdale, ILSunrise Christian Academy
Elliot CadeauJuniorPGWest Orange, NJLink Academy
Coen CarrSeniorSFHampton, GALegacy Early College High SchoolMichigan State
Stephon CastleSeniorPGCovington, GANewton High SchoolUCONN
Isaiah CollierSeniorPGMarietta, GAWheeler High School
Mookie CookSeniorSFPortland, ORAZ Compass PrepOregon
Freddie DilioneSeniorSGFayetteville, NCWord of God Christian AcademyTennessee
Justin EdwardsSeniorSFPhiladelphia, PAImhotep Institute Charter High SchoolKentucky
Dennis EvansSeniorCRiverside, CAHillcrest High SchoolMinnesota
Kwame "KJ" Evans Jr.SeniorPFBaltimore, MDMontverde AcademyOregon
Baye FallSeniorCDenver, COAccelerated SchoolsArkansas
Jeremy FearsSeniorPGJoliet, ILJoliet West High SchoolMichigan State
Cooper FlaggSophomoreSFNewport, MEMontverde Academy
Caleb FosterSeniorPGSherman Oaks, CANotre Dame High SchoolDuke
Brandon GarrisonSeniorCDel City, OKDel City High SchoolOklahoma State
Rayvon GriffithSeniorSFCincinnati, OHAZ Compass PrepCincinnati
Amani HansberrySeniorCBaltimore, MDMount St. Joseph High SchoolIllinois
Dylan HarperJuniorSGRamsey, NJDon Bosco High School
DeShawn Harris-SmithSeniorSFFairfax, VAPaul VI High School Maryland
Ron HollandSeniorPFDuncanville, TXDuncanville High SchoolTexas
Aden HollowaySeniorPGCharlotte, NCProlific PrepAuburn
Elmarko JacksonSeniorSGSouth Kent, CTSouth Kent SchoolKansas
Ian JacksonJuniorSFBronx, NYCardinal Hayes High School
Bronny JamesSeniorPGLos Angeles, CASierra Canyon High School
Tre JohnsonJuniorSGDallas, TXLake Highlands High School
A.J. JohnsonSeniorPGWoodland Hills, CASouthern California Academy
Chris JohnsonSeniorSGMissouri City, TXMontverde AcademyKansas
Miro LittleSeniorPGFinlandSunrise Christian AcademyBaylor
Jared McCainSeniorSGCorona, CACentennial High SchoolDuke
Mackenzie MgbakoSeniorPFNewark, NJRoselle Catholic High SchoolDuke
Scotty MiddletonSeniorSFMiami, FLSunrise Christian AcademyOhio State
Milan MomcilovicSeniorPFPewaukee, WIPewaukee High SchoolIowa State
Koa PeatSophomorePFGilbert, AZPerry High School
T.J. PowerSeniorPFShrewsbury, MAWorcester AcademyDuke
Reed SheppardSeniorSGLondon, KYNorth Laurel High SchoolKentucky
Sean StewartSeniorPFWindermere, FLMontverde AcademyDuke
Andrej StojakovicSeniorSFCarmichael, CAJesuit High SchoolStanford
Dusty StromerSeniorSFSherman Oaks, CANotre Dame High SchoolGonzaga
Bryson TuckerJuniorSFBaltimore, MDIMG Academy
D.J. WagnerSeniorPGCamden, NJCamden High School
Ja'Kobe WalterSeniorSGMcKinney, TXLink AcademyBaylor
Simeon WilcherSeniorPGPlainfield, NJRoselle Catholic High SchoolNorth Carolina
Mikey WilliamsSeniorSGSan Ysidro, CASan Ysidro High SchoolMemphis
Cody WilliamsSeniorSFGilbert, AZPerry High SchoolColorado
Wesley YatesSeniorSGBeaumont, TXBeaumont United High SchoolWashington


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983. Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder.


Jersey Mike’s Subs, with more than 2,300 locations open and under development nationwide, serves authentic fresh sliced/fresh grilled subs on in-store freshly baked bread — the same recipe it started with in 1956. Passion for giving in Jersey Mike’s local communities is reflective in its mission statement “Giving…making a difference in someone’s life.” For more information, please visit or follow us on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.

Media Contact:

Traci Messier

Jackson Spalding for the Atlanta Tipoff Club

[email protected]