ATLANTA (March 12, 2020) – The Atlanta Tipoff Club today announced that Terri Bamford of La Jolla Country Day School in La Jolla, California, and Kevin Boyle of Montverde Academy in Montverde, Florida, have been named winners of the 2020 Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Girls and Boys Coach of the Year Awards, respectively.

“Terri and Kevin have coached their teams to great success this season and served as leaders and mentors, leaving a lasting positive impact on their players and in the community,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “Through strong leadership and steady guidance, they have displayed all the qualities of a Jersey Mike’s Naismith Coach of the Year Award winner.”

Bamford has served as the head coach at La Jolla Country Day School since 1997. For the first time since 2013 when they captured the Division IV crown, Bamford led her team to a San Diego Section Open Division Championship title and a stellar 30-1 overall record for the 2019-20 season. During her tenure, Bamford has coached the Torreys to 14 league titles, 13 San Diego Section CIF titles, eight Southern Regional Championship titles and four State Championship titles. Under her leadership, the Torreys have won 10 San Diego Section girls basketball championships in the last 16 seasons, and 30 of her players have continued their careers at Division I schools.

“It is such an amazing honor to receive this Naismith Coach of the Year Award on behalf of my team!” said Bamford. “I feel blessed to have this opportunity to coach such a talented group of players and to be surrounded by an amazing coaching staff. This is truly a team award!”

Boyle has now been awarded the Jersey Mike’s Boys High School Coach of the Year three times, tying for the most won by any high school coach. He has won the award twice in three years at Montverde, and once at St. Patrick High School (2011). With Cade Cunningham earning the 2020 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy, Boyle’s 2020 win also marks the second time he and one of his players have taken home the high school honors (R.J. Barrett, 2018). Boyle coached the Montverde Eagles to an undefeated season, going 25-0 and winning games by an average of 39 points. More than 50 of Boyle’s players have gone on to play at Division I schools, and 15 of his former players have gone on to the NBA.

“Today, I’m humbled to receive the Naismith Coach of the Year Award, but I’d like to thank those who helped make this happen,” said Boyle. “I’d like to thank my wife Kelly for her vision and support, Montverde Academy Headmaster Dr. Kesselring for building a great culture on campus and my great friend and loyal assistant coach Rae Miller for his excellence.”

First presented in 2008, the Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Coach of the Year is awarded by a select group of basketball journalists from around the country who form the Naismith Awards national high school voting academy. The selections were based on outstanding coaching performances during the 2019-20 high school basketball season.

“On behalf of Jersey Mike’s and our growing list of franchise owners across the country, we congratulate Terri and Kevin on being selected as the recipients of this year’s Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Coach of the Year Awards,” said Rich Hope, chief marketing officer, Jersey Mike’s Franchise Systems, Inc. “Both coaches had phenomenal seasons and should be proud of their accomplishments and recognition.”

For more information, visit


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Citizen Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983. Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Citizen Watch Company, Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder.


Jersey Mike’s, a fast-casual sub sandwich franchise with more than 2,000 locations open and under development nationwide, believes that making a sub sandwich and making a difference can be one and the same. Voted America’s Favorite Sandwich Brand in Market Force Information’s 2019 QSR study, Jersey Mike’s offers A Sub Above®, serving authentic fresh sliced subs on freshly baked bread – the same recipe it started with in 1956 – and is passionate about giving back to its local communities. For more information, please visit or follow us on Facebook (, Instagram ( and Twitter (


Media Contact:

Traci Messier

Jackson Spalding for the Atlanta Tipoff Club

[email protected]