Atlanta – Monday, February 27, 2017 – PrimeSport, the leader in providing hospitality and premium experiences to the biggest sports, music and entertainment events in the world, today announced it has partnered with the Atlanta Tipoff Club to become an official marketing partner of the Naismith Trophy, college basketball’s most prestigious awards.

The Naismith Trophy was created in 1969 by the Atlanta Tipoff Club and is awarded annually to the men’s and women’s most outstanding college basketball player.  Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of basketball, the first trophy was awarded to UCLA’s Lew Alcindor, later known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.  Anne Donovan of Old Dominion University received the inaugural women’s Naismith Trophy in 1983.

PrimeSport will have the designation as the “Official Hospitality Partner of the Naismith Trophy,” with activation centered around the Final Four in Phoenix, April 1-3, 2017.

“Knowing the passion that PrimeSport brings to sports, and college basketball in particular, makes this a tremendous partnership for our organization,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “We look forward to starting our activation this season, and are extremely proud to have PrimeSport join the Naismith Trophy family.”

“PrimeSport is excited and honored to partner with the Atlanta Tipoff Club and Naismith Trophy,” said Zack Long, chief marketing officer of PrimeSport. “Basketball is a sport we are deeply invested in, and we are proud to be aligned with such an outstanding organization and prestigious award.”

About PrimeSport:

PrimeSport is the leader in providing direct access to the biggest sporting events, offering tickets, travel, hospitality, and VIP experiences on behalf of more than 150 teams, leagues, and events. PrimeSport’s extensive experience in sports travel, hospitality and ticketing has allowed the company to form long-term, official partnerships with some of the largest sporting events and organizations in the country. As a result, PrimeSport can provide more exclusive access to more events than any other company in the industry.  Official partnerships include select NCAA Championships®, including the NCAA® Men’s Basketball Championship and Men’s Final Four®, Men’s College World Series®, Division I Wrestling Championships, Women’s College World Series®, Women’s Final Four®, Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship and Men’s Frozen Four®, NHL, 20 NFL teams, the Rose Bowl, Sugar Bowl, Alamo Bowl, Orange Bowl, Holiday Bowl, Poinsettia Bowl, Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl, Chick-fil-A Kickoff Game, AdvoCare Texas Kickoff, State Farm Champions Classic, Jimmy V Classic, 2K Classic, Gotham Classic, Legends Classic, Wrangler National Finals Rodeo, Feld Motor Sports, more than 40 major NCAA Division I universities, 19 NASCAR speedways, golf partners such as the PGA of America and more. In 2016, PrimeSport acquired Philadelphia based CID Entertainment, extending the company into VIP experience development in music and entertainment.  PrimeSport is a privately-held company, headquartered in Atlanta with offices in Raleigh, Los Angeles, San Diego, and Philadelphia. For more information, visit or call (800)591-9198.

NCAA, Final Four, Frozen Four, Men’s College World Series, NCAA Ticket Exchange, The NCAA Experience, Women’s College World Series and Women’s Final Four are trademarks owned or licensed by the NCAA. All other licenses or trademarks are property of their respective holders.

About the Atlanta Tipoff Club: 

Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, which have become the most prestigious national honors in all of college basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the Naismith Trophy recognizes the top Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Players and coaches, as well as Boy’s and Girl’s high school basketball players and coaches. Additionally, lifetime achievement awards are presented annually to overall contributors and college officials. The Naismith Trophy was first presented to UCLA’s Lew Alcindor (later known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar) in 1969.


Media Contact:

Wendy Hsiao
Hope-Beckham Inc.