ATLANTA (March 15, 2019) – Today, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced the winners of the 2019 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Trophy for Girls’ and Boys’ High School Player of the Year: Seniors Haley Jones of Archbishop Mitty High School in San Jose, California, and Isaiah Stewart of La Lumiere School in La Porte, Indiana.

“These two players have had outstanding seasons and have shown they have the talent and drive to play at the next level,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “We are proud to have them join our list of student athletes who have won the Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Player of the Year honor and look forward to watching them play throughout their careers.”
Jones has averaged 26.1 points and 12.1 rebounds per game this season with career totals of 2,126 points and 1,058 rebounds. Her defensive stats are also impressive with 3.7 steals and 2.8 blocks per game in the 2018-19 season. During her time at Archbishop Mitty High School, she was coached by Sue Phillips, who won the 2018 Jersey Mike’s Naismith Girls’ Coach of the Year Award. Jones will continue her basketball career in the fall at Stanford University.

“It is so amazing for Haley to be named the Jersey Mike’s Naismith National Player of the Year as it is the most prestigious basketball accolade,” said Phillips. “This honor is a testament to her quality of character, hard work and dedication to perfecting her craft.  Haley is incredibly deserving as she worked tirelessly on all facets of her game to become the epitome of a position-less player and the best in her class.”

Stewart led his team to the first undefeated regular season in the program’s history. He looks to continue that streak at the GEICO High School Nationals in New York City next month. This season, he has averaged 18.1 points and 11.3 rebounds per game with an average of 3.2 blocks per game defensively. Stewart will continue his basketball career at the college level when he attends the University of Washington next year.

“To have Isaiah win the Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Trophy is an absolute an honor for him and for the school,” said La Lumiere School boys’ basketball head coach, Patrick Holmes. “He has worked hard his whole life to get to this point, and he does it while representing himself, his family and the school in a first-class manner.”

The Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Trophy for Player of the Year was first presented in 1987, and the winners are selected by a group of basketball journalists from around the country who form the Naismith Awards national high school voting academy. The selections were based on outstanding performances during the 2018-19 high school basketball season.

“Jersey Mike’s is proud to sponsor the Naismith Awards for high school sports and honor talented student athletes,” said Rich Hope, chief marketing officer, Jersey Mike’s Franchise Systems, Inc. “Haley and Isaiah have shown their dedication to the sport, and we look forward to watching them play at the next level.”

Each winner will be awarded with the Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Trophy, produced and provided by Herff-Jones, the leading provider of graduation and educational products and services, including class rings and jewelry. A replica trophy will be donated by Herff-Jones to the players’ high schools. Notable boys’ winners have included Jason Kidd (1992, St. Joseph Notre Dame High School, Alameda, California), Kobe Bryant (1996, Lower Merion High School, Ardmore, Pennsylvania), LeBron James (2003, St. Vincent-St. Mary, Akron, Ohio) and Derrick Favors (2009, South Atlanta High School, Atlanta). Notable girls’ winners have included Lisa Leslie (1990, Morningside High School, Inglewood, California), Chamique Holdsclaw (1995, Christ the King, Middle Village, New York), Candace Parker (2003, Naperville Central, Naperville, Illinois) and Maya Moore (2006 & 2007, Collins Hill High School, Suwanee, Georgia).

For more information, visit


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Citizen Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983.  Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Bona, Citizen Watch Company, Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder.


Jersey Mike’s, a fast-casual sub sandwich franchise with more than 2,000 locations open and under development nationwide, believes that making a sub sandwich and making a difference can be one and the same.  Jersey Mike’s offers A Sub Above®, serving authentic fresh sliced subs on freshly baked bread – the same recipe it started with in 1956 – and is passionate about giving back to its local communities. For more information, please visit or follow us on Facebook ( and Twitter (

# # #

Media Contact:

Traci Messier

Jackson Spalding for the Atlanta Tipoff Club