Top Players from Across the Country Vying for the National Honor

ATLANTA (February 20, 2020) – The Atlanta Tipoff Club today announced the five finalists competing for the Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Boys and Girls Player of the Year Trophy honors. The candidates represent 10 high schools nationwide, and the winners of the Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Boys and Girls Player of the Year awards will be announced on March 10. Nine of the finalists have already committed to college basketball programs.

“Each of these finalists has what it takes to win the Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Trophy, and our voters had a tremendous challenge whittling down the lists to five finalists,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “We look forward to watching them finish out their high school careers strongly as they make a push to claim this national honor.”

“What an amazing year it has been throughout high school basketball!” said Rich Hope, chief marketing officer, Jersey Mike’s Franchise Systems, Inc. “The level of play has been outstanding, and we are excited to see the top five finalists for the Jersey Mike’s Naismith High School Trophy. These players represent excellence at the highest level, and we are proud to be associated with this prestigious award program.”

2020 Jersey Mike's Naismith High School Trophy Boys Player of the Year Finalists

BrandonBoston Jr.Sr.FSierra Canyon SchoolChatsworth, CAKentucky
CadeCunninghamSr.GMontverde AcademyMontverde, FLOklahoma State
JalenGreenSr.GProlific PrepNapa, CAUndecided
EvanMobleySr.CRancho Christian SchoolTemecula, CAUSC
JalenSuggsSr.GMinnehaha AcademyMinneapolis, MNGonzaga

2020 Jersey Mike's Naismith High School Trophy Girls Player of the Year Finalists

PaigeBueckersPaige BueckersSr.GHopkins High SchoolHopkins, MNUConn
KamillaCardosoKamilla CardosoSr.CHamilton Heights Christian AcademyChattanooga, TNSyracuse
Te-HinaPaopaoTe-Hina PaopaoSr.GLa Jolla Country Day SchoolLa Jolla, CAOregon
AngelReeseAngel ReeseSr.WSt. Frances AcademyBaltimore, MDMaryland
HaileyVan LithHailey Van LithSr.GCashmere High SchoolCashmere, WALouisville


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the most outstanding men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Citizen Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983. Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Citizen Watch Company, Jersey Mike’s and Werner Ladder.


Jersey Mike’s, a fast-casual sub sandwich franchise with more than 2,000 locations open and under development nationwide, believes that making a sub sandwich and making a difference can be one and the same. Voted America’s Favorite Sandwich Brand in Market Force Information’s 2019 QSR study, Jersey Mike’s offers A Sub Above®, serving authentic fresh sliced subs on freshly baked bread – the same recipe it started with in 1956 – and is passionate about giving back to its local communities. For more information, please visit or follow us on Facebook (, Instagram ( and Twitter (


Media Contact:

Traci Messier

Jackson Spalding for the Atlanta Tipoff Club

[email protected]