ATLANTA (September 26, 2018) – The Atlanta Tipoff Club today announced Denise Brooks the 2018 Naismith Women’s College Official of the Year award winner and honored the late Jim “Boomer” Bain as the 2018 Naismith Men’s College Official of the Year for their contributions to the sport of basketball.  Brooks and Bain will be honored at separate NCAA Regional Officiating Clinics this fall Doug Elgin, commissioner of the Missouri Valley Conference, will accept the award on Bain’s behalf.

First awarded in 1988, the Naismith Official of the Year award recognizes individuals who display character, integrity and dignity and have contributed mightily to the growth, success and viability of college basketball. To be eligible, an individual must have been involved with the sport as a game official for a minimum of 20 years and worked both the NCAA Tournament and a conference tournament as a game official.

Brooks has worked 16 NCAA Tournaments, including 11 Final Fours and four Championship games.  During her 30 years as an official, she officiated college and WNBA games, including several WNBA Finals and two All-Star games. Brooks has served as an official for 13 college conferences, including the American, America East, ACC, BIG EAST, Big Ten, MAAC, MEAC and the SEC.

“When I started officiating in the late ’80s as a way to stay involved in basketball after my college playing days, I had no idea where it would all lead me. The most treasured of all are the friends that I’ve met through officiating and some of those people are like family to me,” said Brooks. “To receive the Naismith Award and to be included in the elite group that has been recognized before me brings a smile to my face. With a little hard work and a little luck anything is possible.”

Bain officiated his first college game for NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball in 1964 and continued calling games until 1992. His long and successful career as a college basketball game official included working 18 NCAA Tournaments, five Final Fours and two title games. Bain also served as coordinator of basketball officials for the Missouri Valley Conference for 18 years and worked tirelessly to improve the quality of officiating in the league. Beyond college basketball, Bain refereed in the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich, Germany, and served as an official in several international tournaments and championships.

“Jim ‘Boomer’ Bain’s legacy is what he meant to the game of collegiate and amateur basketball, both as an elite official and as a mentor to so many young officials. His integrity and knowledge of the game, combined with the respect he commanded in officiating circles, clearly made him one of the best officials in the college game and in the world,” said Doug Elgin, commissioner of the Missouri Valley Conference. “Receiving the Naismith College Official of the Year award would have been a truly proud, shining moment for Jim.  There were few things in his life that were as important to him as the relationships he had with officials and others in college basketball.”

“Both Denise and Boomer have dedicated a tremendous amount of time and expertise to the sport through their officiating, and their positive contributions to college basketball will have a lasting impact,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “Off the court, they have been amazing mentors for younger officials, which in turn makes the industry that much stronger.”

Former winners of the awards include:

Men's Official of the Year Women's Official of the Year
2018Jim “Boomer” BainDenise Brooks
2017John Higgins Al Link
2016Dick Cartmell Phyllis Deveney
2015Mike Sanzere Dock Sisk
2014Randy McCall Kaye Garms
2013Tom Eades Marcy Weston
2012Tom O'Neill Doug Cloud
2011Ed Corbett Mary Day
2010Anthony Greene Denny Mayer
2009Mike Kitts Nan Sisk
2008Scott Thornley Tommy Salerno
2007John Cahill Tina Napier
2006Steve Welmer Joe Cunningham
2005Ted Valentine Wesley Dean
2004Bob Donato Melissa Barlow
2003Mike Wood Yvette McKinney
2002Larry Rose Lisa Mattingly
2001Ted Hillary Scott Yarbrough
2000Gerald Boudreaux Dennis DeMayo
1999Andre Pattillo Violet Palmer
1998Frank Scagliotta Bob Trammell
1997Tommy Lopes Dee Kantner
1996Dick Paparo John Morningstar
1995Leonard Wirtz Darlene May
1994Tim Higgins Larry Sheppard
1993James Burr Arthur Bomengen
1992Ed Hightower Sue Kennedy
1991Don Rutledge Sally Bell
1990Mickey Crowley Bill Stokes
1989John Clougherty June Courteau
1988Joe Forte Patty Broderick


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, which have become the most prestigious national honors in all of college basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the Citizen Naismith Trophy recognizes the top Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Players of the Year. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coaches of the Year, Boys’ and Girls’ High School Basketball Players and Coaches of the Year, Basketball Officials and Outstanding Contributors to the game. The Citizen Naismith Trophy was first presented to UCLA’s Lew Alcindor in 1969. Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women’s Citizen Naismith Trophy in 1983.