ATLANTA (January 25, 2019) – Today, the Atlanta Tipoff Club released the midseason list of players to watch for the Naismith Women’s Defensive Player of the Year Award presented by Bona. Included on the list is Teaira McCowan of Mississippi State, who looks to repeat after taking home the inaugural award in 2018.

“We’re excited to see some familiar names of players who have a reputation for defending the court,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “Each of these players possesses a defensive tenacity and drive that make them worthy of consideration for the second presentation of this award.”

The following is the Naismith Women’s Defensive Player of the Year Watch List presented by Bona:

KristineAnigweSr. C/FCaliforniaPac-12
ShakiraAustinFr.FMarylandBig Ten
ChastadieBarrsSr. GLamarSouthland
KenishaBellSr. GMinnesotaBig Ten
KalaniBrownSr. CBaylorBig 12
LaurenCoxJr.FBaylorBig 12
ChannonFlukerSr. CCSUNBig West
MeganGustafsonSr. FIowa Big Ten
Ae'RiannaHarrisJr.FPurdueBig Ten
AnrielHowardSr. FMississippi StateSEC
ReganMagaritySr. FVirginia TechACC
TeairaMcCowanSr. CMississippi StateSEC
TaylorMurraySr. GKentucky SEC
CaliyaRobinsonSr. FGeorgiaSEC
BriannaTurnerSr. FNotre DameACC

“These talented athletes deserve kudos for their impressive defensive performances and on-court toughness,” said Tiffany Baird, brand manager, Bona US. “We are looking forward to another exciting season of women’s basketball and are proud that Bona helps colleges defend and finish the courts athletes call home.”

The Big Ten and SEC lead the conferences with four players on the list apiece. Two teams, Baylor and Mississippi State, are represented by two players each, including McCowan. Players not on the Midseason Watch List are still eligible to be selected as award semifinalists, which will be announced in February.


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, the most prestigious national honors in all of college and high school basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the family of Naismith Awards annually recognizes the top men’s and women’s college and high school basketball players and coaches.  Other Naismith Awards are presented to the men’s and women’s college basketball defensive players of the year, as well as lifetime achievement awards to basketball officials and outstanding contributors to the game. UCLA’s Lew Alcindor received the first Citizen Naismith Trophy in 1969, while the late Anne Donovan (Old Dominion) was the inaugural women’s recipient in 1983.  Corporate partners of the Naismith Awards include Bona, the Citizen Watch Company and Werner Ladder.


Bona is an innovative, environmentally-conscious company dedicated to creating beautiful floors since 1919. Bona US, the North American subsidiary of BonaAB in Malmö, Sweden, manufactures and distributes floor care and home cleaning products. For decades, most professional and collegiate athletes have played on floors finished with Bona Sport® waterborne finishes, sealers and paints. Bona provides the most complete system of sport products in the industry including waterborne and oil modified finishes, paint, machines, abrasives, adhesives and a fast, effective maintenance system.  From residue-free hardwood floor cleaners to a beautiful array of stains and high durability finishes, consumers, distributors and contractors trust Bona. For more information, please contact Bona US at (800) 872-5515 or


 Media Contacts:

Traci Messier

Jackson Spalding for the Atlanta Tipoff Club


Heather Lindemann for Bona