ATLANTA (March 7, 2018) – The Atlanta Tipoff Club today announced that Kevin Boyle of Montverde Academy in Montverde, Florida, and Sue Phillips of Archbishop Mitty High School in San Jose, California, have been named winners of the 2018 Naismith High School Boy’s and Girl’s Coach of the Year awards, respectively.

“Both Kevin and Sue represent the best in high school coaching,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “Through strong leadership and steady guidance, they have coached their teams to great success and have had a lasting positive impact on their players and in the community.”

Boyle has coached the nation’s top-ranked Eagles to a 31-0 record thus far, and he hopes to continue his undefeated season as his team heads to the High School Basketball National Tournament in New York City later this month. Boyle has been with Montverde since 2011, having previously coached at St. Patrick in Elizabeth, N.J., where he won this award during the 2010-2011 season. He becomes the second boy’s coach to claim multiple awards and the only coach to accomplish the feat at separate high schools.

“I am truly humbled and incredibly honored to be selected for the prestigious Naismith High School Coach of the Year award,” said Boyle. “This honor is really about all of the amazing people in my life who have given me so much, and this year’s coaches and players, who sacrificed personal interests for the benefit of the program.”

In her 25th season at Archbishop Mitty High School, Phillips has directed the Monarchs to a 27-0 record and led them to become the nation’s top-ranked girls’ team. With a career record of 665-124, Phillips looks to continue her season undefeated as the Monarchs face off in the CIF State Open Division Tournament this weekend.

“I am extremely grateful and honored to win the Naismith National High School Coach of the Year award,” said Phillips. “I would like to thank my players and coaching staff for making this honor possible.”

First presented in 2008, the Naismith Trophy High School Coach of the Year is awarded by a select group of basketball journalists from around the country who form the Naismith Awards national high school voting academy. The selections were based on outstanding coaching performances during the 2017- 2018 high school basketball season.

For more information, visit

Celebrating 50 Years of the Citizen Naismith Trophy

Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, which have become the most prestigious national honors in all of college basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the Naismith Trophy recognizes the top Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Players of the Year. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coaches of the Year, Boys’ and Girls’ High School Basketball Players and Coaches of the Year, Basketball Officials and Outstanding Contributors to the game. Celebrating its 50th year by honoring past winners, the Citizen Naismith Trophy was first presented to UCLA’s Lew Alcindor (later known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar) in 1969. Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women’s Citizen Naismith Trophy in 1983.


Media Contact:
Traci Messier