ATLANTA (March 13, 2017) – The coach of the nation’s top-ranked high school girls’ basketball team has been named the 2017 Naismith High School Girls’ Coach of the Year, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. Randy Coffman, who led his Riverdale (Tenn.) High School Lady Warriors to an undefeated season (34-0) and a second consecutive Class AAA girls’ state basketball championship, becomes the first girls’ coach in Tennessee to claim this honor. Riverdale defeated Memphis Central 66-59 on Saturday to cap off a perfect season, which totals 43 in a row dating back to last season.

“I am extremely honored and humbled to be this year’s Naismith Award recipient,” said Coffman. “This recognition is a reflection of our players, school and administration’s commitment to excellence.”

“Randy exemplifies the strong leadership and steady guidance needed to succeed at this level,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “His team had a remarkable season and he’s extremely deserving of this national honor.”

First presented in 2008, the Naismith Trophy High School Girls’ Coach of the Year award is determined by a select group of basketball journalists from around the country who form the Naismith Awards national high school voting academy. The selections were based on outstanding coaching performances during the 2016-2017 high school basketball season.


Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, which have become the most prestigious national honors in all of college basketball. Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the Naismith Trophy recognizes the top Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Players of the Year. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coaches of the Year, Boy’s and Girl’s high school basketball players and coaches of the year, basketball officials and overall contributors to the game. The Naismith Trophy was first presented to UCLA’s Lew Alcindor (later known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar) in 1969. Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women’s Naismith Trophy in 1983.

# # # 

Media Contact: 

Traci Messier, for the Atlanta Tipoff Club